The Year that Disappeared

2016

Where did it go? Just whoosh!! Gone. And good riddance.

But looking back through my photos I realise that although the events that hit the headlines dominated and soured the year, on a personal level I enjoyed holidays and acheivements which I can remember fondly.

Here’s a whip through my year

JANUARY

Flooding continued in the South West. Family visit Bath. A hen do in Sheffield with magical snowfall.

img_4121
Family meal at The Scallop Shell.
img_4104
Gwilym orders cocktail.
img_4153
The London Cat
img_4251
Snow after Lois’ hen do.
img_4282
Snow in Sheffield
img_4209
Megan finds it all too much.
img_0011
Flooding in Coleford at Christmas and New Year.

FEBRUARY

Lois and Tom get married in Beverley, Chinese New Year in Bristol, my birthday at The Lanes-bowling and dancing and pizza! I set up a studio space to paint. I apply for a job which I eventually get. We see Propellor at The Egg.

img_5922
My lovely studio.
img_4714
Rich dresses the part (the Big Lebowski) at The Lanes for my birthday.
img_7696
The cheese tower at Lois’ wedding.
img_4605
Sushi penguins for CNY.
img_7182
The dress I made at The Folk House finished just in time for Lois’ winter wedding.
img_4567
Me and Carolyn paint outdoors on a sunny day in Box.

MARCH

Mum’s birthday, job interview, a weekend at Blenheim with friends. I start my new job as Visual Merchandiser for Rossiters.

img_5357
Thoughtful at Budleigh. (thinking about chips)
p1080395
Presents in bed.
img_4931
Lovely food at The Beer Engine, Newton St Cyres.
img_4919
Raising a pint at The Beer Engine.
img_5364
Friends reunited.
img_5164
Nothing changes.
img_5120
The window display I did for my second interview.
img_5110
Wonderful wallpapers.
img_5501
My first window for the Homes & Garden department at Rossiters.
img_5099
Some styling for a magazine shoot.

APRIL

London again, decorating Matt’s bathroom (hardly a highlight but enjoyable nonetheless). Sheffield for Rob’s Belgian themed birthday complete with a waffle mountain and Mannequin Pis. Visit the Industrial Hamlet at Millhouses. Lots of gardening, visits to the studio preparing canvases, walks around Box.

img_5741

MAY

Plenty of painting begun, visit to Cornwall, Lost Gardens of Heligan, mackerel fishing, Lost Fest, Brewery Tour, BBQs and catching up with friends. Flying visit to Devon on the way back from Cornwall.

img_5897
paintings begun
img_5926
experimenting
img_5930
painting
img_5890
More experiments with new colours and abstraction.
img_5965
flowers at Fowey
img_5981
BBQ (1 of many)
img_5996
Lost Fest. What a scorcher. a wonderful day out.
img_6064
Mackerel fishing at Mevagissey.
img_6059
Mevagissey harbour.
img_6129-effects
Charlestown. Poldark country.
img_6163
The craft room to end all craft rooms!
img_6172
Yellow coats at Falmouth.
img_6183
Flora relaxing in Devon, possibly digesting a rabbit.
dscn5899
Salty Sea Dogs.

 

And that’s the first 5 months. The rest to follow including my best photos of 2016.

3 thoughts on “The Year that Disappeared

  1. Great survey. I especially liked the May paintings. Even what appeared to be very early ideas seemed to me to be worthwhile statements which could perfectly well be exhibited. The colours (a gesture towards Odilon Redon maybe?) were particularly good.

Leave a Reply

