Dusk by Maxfield Parrish

My Art Collection Part 1

Can’t get tickets for the Hockney show? Here’s a tour of my art collection which will introduce you to the work of artists that I have loved enough to spend real cash money on. I’ve not regretted a single purchase and get enjoyment from them everyday. Some are simple colour photocopies whilst others are carborundum, silkscreen or lithograph prints. Limited edition original prints are most affordable way of buying art if you have to watch your pennies like I do.

Well they are certainly something I feel confident about spending money on. I think because I have dabbled in etching, silkscreening, drypoint and lino I appreciate the work involved and understand something of the process. I would like to buy more ceramics (a medium I have no direct experience in making) and have only just recently bought a second piece by an artist who I have long admired.

Here is my virtual gallery. This is Part One. More information will follow once I have compiled all the relevant details.

Sun Sea and Sand by Helen Hanson
Sun, Sea and Sand by Helen Hanson

Sun, Sea and Sand is a coloured etching by Kent based artist Helen Hanson. I’ve been a fan of her work for about 8 years. She often makes tiny etchings with botanical details but this is one her of largest works. What a perfect view! How i would love to live by this seaside. I have two of her small prints which i shall photograph so you have a fuller view of her style. This is a beautiful picture of a beautiful view and i admire it for its clean use of colours and simple palette. It’s full of light, the smell of saltwater and coastal breezes.

Lithograph by Angie Lewin
Lithograph by Angie Lewin

I can’t bring the title of this one to mind at the moment but it’s by Angie Lewin. (I’ve just checked and it’s Meadow II) If I earned more money I would buy one of every print she makes! Palette and style are reminiscent of 50’s patterns that I admire. I love how these seed heads make me think of space plants or weird bacteria.

Dusk by Maxfield Parrish
Dusk by Maxfield Parrish

This one isn’t an original print or painting…if only! It’s a poster I had framed of Dusk by Maxfield Parrish. He was an American artist (1870-1966) who built up thin glazes of oil paint giving the very real impression of illumination within the painting. Maxfield Parrish is the only artist who convincingly paints dusk, dawn and reflected light off snowy landscapes. How many times have you wanted to capture those fleeting crepuscular moments only to realise your camera looses the gradation of delicate colour and detail. Parrish’s paintings have it all. I recommend you explore more of his work if you don’t already know it. He’s been a huge influence on many different artists, graphic designers, art directors and illustrators since. I would give a lot to paint like him. Same goes for another American artist I admire…Norman Rockwell.

Chairlift by Graham Carter
Chairlift by Graham Carter

Ok! Change of style here but it sits very comfortably within the rest of my collection and home. This is a silkscreen print on Japanese Plywood by Graham Carter. He’s an artist living and working on the south coast of Britain who I first spotted exhibiting at the Affordable Art Fair in London. Actually, my friend spotted his work first but I was quick to appreciate Graham’s style too and had to have this picture of a girl calmly rising above an alpine scene with her equally unperturbed cat. I know I would not be this serene in such a contraption and this picture gives me a vicarious enjoyment I would not allow myself in real life. I’ve been up Hammetschwand Elevator and still feel sick at the memory. Never again!

2 Go Mad in Dorset by Jane Ormes
2 Go Mad in Dorset by Jane Ormes

Here’s a lively, colourful silkscreen print by Bristol based printmaker Jane Ormes. She’s had a successful career illustrating books and magazines, as an artist and most recently was commissioned by Marks and Spencer for their Easter food range. Again the patterns in this are quite 50’s in my opinion. Perhaps even 1970’s too now i think on it. Makes me think of curtains in my grandparents caravan they used to tow to North Devon every year. That’s a compliment i promise!

 

That’s all for now folks. Watch out for Part Two coming soon to your screens and Part Three which we are hesitantly informed will bring us actual examples of homemade art from Initforthehoney herself!

 

Signing out.

Over.

Leave a Reply

